The Bartimaeus Trilogy

by Jonathan Stroud

I’m lucky my mom bought me the entire trilogy this Christmas, because otherwise I would have stopped after the first book – and I would have missed out. I started The Amulet of Samarkand while we were in California and, quite honestly, only picked up the second book (The Golem’s Eye) because I was bored on the train ride home.

So that should tell you something: the first book isn’t amazing. I disliked the main character and felt the plot left a lot to be desired. But the second – fabulous! The third (Ptolemy’s Gate) – unbelievable! The story became so intricate, the characters so real, the writing so impressive…you’ll probably laugh when I tell you I cried at the end of the last book. (Yes. I cried after The Bartimaeus Trilogy but not The Last Lecture. I’m going to say I had different hormone levels affecting each reaction.) This is a really interesting take on how magic works – I get tired of the “it’s a stream we tap into” theory. I would definitely add these to your list of books to read.

One thought on “The Bartimaeus Trilogy

  1. drwilly886 says:

    I disliked the 1st book but the other 2 were ok

Leave a Reply

