Recommended

I can’t remember why I first started this list, but if I’m asked for books I would recommend, this is usually what I give people.

Classic that won’t take 3 years to read: The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orzcy

Fiction you can analyze to death: Watership Down by Richard Adams (but it really is just about rabbits)

Everyone should probably read: Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe

Children’s to make you swear never to have kids: The Wouldbegoods by E. Nesbit (obviously it didn’t work for me)

Non-fiction you can use for trivia: The Language Instinct by Steven Pinker

Children’s read-aloud: A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck

Excessively surreal and obscure: Under Plum Lake by Lionel Davidson

One of my favorites: The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

YA fiction to make you appreciate teenage hormones: Angus, Thongs, and Full-frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

YA fantasy: Inkheart by Cornelia Funke (and then read Inkspell)

After you read Hamlet again: Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard

Underappreciated classic: Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

Complete emotional drain: Song for the Basilisk by Patricia McKillip

Bestseller: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (recommended with hesitation, see my blog post about it)

Science fiction, I suppose: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

If you’ve never read C.S. Lewis: The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis

One of my other favorites: A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving (recommended with caution that there is a bit of swearing)

On a grouchy day: Judy Moody by Megan McDonald

Movie adaptation: K-PAX by Gene Brewer (it’s ok to see the movie first)

Because I don’t know what genre you like: Three Bags Full by Leonie Swann

…and there you have it. The world according to me.

2 thoughts on “Recommended

  1. Kendy says:

    First: I’ve half-read your left behind copy of The Language Instinct. I plan to read lots more linguistic stuff- when I have time. Second: You liked Phantom of the Opera and Dorian Gray? I haven’t read Dorian, but I’m definitely surprised at Phantom. I hated it. Third: Isn’t Song for the Basilisk a fantasy? What exactly is emotionally draining about it? Inquiring minds want to know. Fourth: I love R&G to death. That’s about it.

  2. roni says:

    First: it’s fun huh? I think I probably skimmed a few parts, but…I have a habit of doing that when non-fiction gets too non-fiction…

    Second: hmm. I thought Phantom was great. And Dorian is fantastic, you NEED to read it. It took me a while to get through the first time, but then, it wasn’t written for someone with a short attention span like I have.

    Third: good question. The first time I read it I was exhausted afterwards.

    Fourth: still one of the best books I’ve ever had to read for a class!

Leave a Reply

