The Value of Expertise

I have a confession: I don’t actually know anything, and I’m not a good writer.

Nevertheless, I do have quite a few ideas for research or opinion papers. Currently I’m working on an article discussing how our modern society places so much emphasis on expertise (technological in particular) that we diregard and brush off individuals who don’t meet the ever-changing needs of, or who are not able to adapt to, our technological world — namely, the elderly. In most cultures the elderly have (at least traditionally) been respected, revered, honored. They are valued for their life knowledge and experience, and typically accepted as having greater wisdom than the youth. Not so in our modern world; the aged are seen as doddering, senile, and incompetent.

Someday, when I know something and can write, I’ll post my little article for you to read. In the meantime, what’s your opinion on the subject (of expertise and aging, not my writing skills!)?

One thought on “The Value of Expertise

  1. KHL says:

    I suspect that reverence or admiration of elders in a society depends somewhat on the rapidily of change in a society. If we’re still doing the same types of things our grandparents were, then we’re going to seek their expertise. Sadly, that’s not the case in our current technology-driven socio-economic climate.

    I think that pace also keeps us running about, when dealing with older people takes some slowing down that we’re not used to. Consciously slowing down is not an easy thing to do when you’re used to zooming around all the time.

    But I have to admit that a lot of the time, I just have a hard time interacting with most of the old people I know. Part of that is the particular old people, and part of that is my own impatience.

Leave a Reply

