Clean House and Nutella…

…But where are all the people?

Um, so remember that one time I decided to be in charge of a book club? …Apparently, you and I are the only ones who remember.

I understand that it’s a busy time of year. I understand that it was confusing to postpone March’s discussion until April 10. I’m busy myself, and I just realized a few days ago that our meeting was coming up. But…I did remember, I did clean my house (well, really, the Romgi cleaned and I wandered around looking for some trash to throw away), I did prepare all the background information and author biography I was asked to provide, and…here it is an hour past starting time, and I’m sitting in my apartment, all alone. (Sigh…)

[Sidenote: do you guys know the song about the petunia in the onion patch? You do now, right?]

So this is my frustration. I had a really difficult time getting anyone to choose a book for April’s discussion – I sent out three emails before someone finally replied that “I just don’t think anyone wanted the pressure of picking the book!” I’m fairly certain that the reason I sent the email in the first place was because I didn’t want the pressure, especially two months in a row in addition to hosting. Two more emails, and one brave soul suggested a title. Hallelujah. Unfortunately, I’m beginning to see (very clearly) why our ward’s book club has not thrived.

What’s this? Someone just came by! Granted, it was an hour late, and she just came by briefly to see how things were going…it was kind of considerate though, wasn’t it? She advised me to put another announcement in the Relief Society bulletin and send out an email reminding people the day before.

Now that is what I wanted to write about. Here’s what I’ve been thinking for the last hour: These are grown women, and I am not their mother. I should not have to send note after note for 2 weeks reminding them of one meeting. If they want to sign up for something, it’s their job to make sure they actually go. I did send a reminder within the last 5 days — which, I now realize, is just not good enough. But…when I had to reschedule our March discussion at the last minute, I wrote a quick email explaining and asking people to reply so I knew they had gotten the message. Five of the six responses said, in different words, “Oh, alright, that’s great actually because I was busy tonight anyway and couldn’t come.” I also put a sign (and a pen) on my front door (for those who did not get the email) asking them to leave their name so I could contact them with rescheduling information. No one put their name. Did word get around on the ward grapevine quickly? Who knows. What I do know is that the majority of the club was not planning on coming that night. I probably would have met with something similar to tonight’s “discussion” had I not postponed. That’s pretty disappointing to me.

So there’s my rambling. To cheer myself up I had two big pieces of toast with Nutella. Mmm.

I feel much better now.

2 thoughts on “Clean House and Nutella…

  1. Bethany says:

    I know what you mean about reminding people. I once called someone to help us move and he said “Yeah, I can help just give me a call the day before to remind me.” Um, No. Thats not my job. Thats what calendars are for. Three Cheers for Mika trying so hard to get the book club going. Cheer! Cheer! Cheer! Sometimes I forget things…I decided to buy a little pocket calendar to keep in my diaper bag. It’s been great! I love writing things down in my little calendar. Mmm, Nutella. I haven’t had that in a long time. I wish I lived near you. I’d come to your book club!!!

  2. KHL says:

    I agree with not “mothering” grown people. But it comes down to interest. If people have enough interest in coming, they’ll find a way to remember. If you have enough interest to want people there, you can remind and remind and remind.

    And Nutella–or chocolate in general–cures a lot of life’s ills! Yesterday we went to Oakland to a place called “Cosmic Chocolates.” It was quite an experience! I’ll have to tell you more details.

Leave a Reply

