Is Ed There?

This is a telephone conversation I just had. Really.

Me: Hello?
Woman: Is Ed there?
Me: I’m sorry, you have the wrong number. (We get a lot of calls asking for Ed.)
Woman: Oh, is your mommy or daddy home?
Me: …This is actually my house. I’m an adult.
Woman: Oh! You sound like you’re 12 years old!
Me: I’m not.
Woman: Well, this is Karen Anderson from the Missing Children’s Foundation, how are you today?
[click]

Did she actually think I was going to donate to her charitable organization after that?

4 thoughts on “Is Ed There?

  1. Romgi says:

    we always get calls for Ed… we don’t even get mail for him, so he hasn’t lived here in a long time. Probably at least 4 or 5 years. I’m sure Ed was a great guy and all, but if 4 years have passed, and these people don’t have his number, I’m pretty sure he doesn’t care about them.

  2. roni says:

    Well, maybe he just used to have this phone number. I think Qwest just gave us a random one…not necessarily one that went with our apartment.

    At any rate, I think it’s funny how most of the people that call for Ed are not telemarketers but Wisconsiners, from the sound of it. “Hey, ‘zed there?”

  3. Katie says:

    When I got my very first cell phone, I would get these phone calls where I would answer and then they would just go off in Spanish. That freaked me out. That happened about 10 times a day for the first 2 days, then I changed my phone number (to reflect my high school nickname even 5399=LEWY…I’m so clever! ) Next time they ask if Ed is there you should strike up a conversation with them, “No I’m sorry, there is not a talking horse in this apartment, but how’s the weather where you are? Hey, have you ever eaten at (fill in the blank)…”

  4. Romgi says:

    we also get collect calls from mexico. maybe they are looking for ed too?

Leave a Reply

